Day 5/30 of the Mobile Testing Challenge

Today is the task from day 5 (I swapped it with day 6, remember?), which reminds me of a really cool song. Oh, don’t click that! You did, didn’t you? I guess I spoiled the surprise yet again, huh?..

Some say that if you give an infinite number of monkeys a typewriter, they will write Shakespeare. I say that if you give me a typewriter, I will write the infinite for monkeys. Which is ∞. Plus a spoiler! But this is just monkey business, along with today’s task which is:

Use the Android monkey provided in the Android SDK to send random commands to your Android app and describe your findings.

So, what do I need first? Android Studio. Kind of difficult, because last time I used it, it wouldn’t see my device. But let’s try this once again. On the laptop this time, so I might be successful.

But, first, what is monkey testing? As said in the task itself, it’s a program that runs a series of commands in a random order on the phone at a high speed. Its use is to see if the phone can take all of these actions one after another. It would be difficult to have that speed as a normal user (although some do type fast), so this automated process gives much clearer results. For more information, check out this page here.

I downloaded Android Studio, launched cmd, went to the folder with the adb file and wrote in the command line to launch the monkey and add the output into a logs text, exactly the steps shown here. But I didn’t know what the package name of the app was as the app that I wanted to test on (Facebook) was already installed. So, I didn’t and just ran the command without that part to see what happens. Of course, the program didn’t detect my device and the log text file was empty. The thing is that I don’t run on an emulator, but on a physical phone, so I had to make this configuration work. I checked out this page and followed the steps that were there. But I got stuck where I had to update the driver software because it wouldn’t see my device at all. So, I started digging some more. I did this workaround where I got stuck again at the troubleshooting part. I checked out this link here and that didn’t work, either. You could say that I’m really stuck now, I have no idea how to make my device appear in the manager.

I guess I failed today’s task… And I could have gotten away with it, if it weren’t for that pesky Android Studio! It’s not over between me and it, though, not even the slightest! If you guys have any other idea or solution to the problem I was having, I’d love to hear it. It’s pretty late and I think I’m not seeing the solution properly, so I’d appreciate the help!

Test on and thanks,

A. Testophiliac

monkey-typewriter

Leave a Reply

